OSCP vs Crtp

Each comparison ends with a verdict, decided on outcome, accessibility, and total cost (time, dollars, opportunity), using BLS, ISC2, CompTIA, and certifying-body sources cited inline.

ByDecipherU Editorial

At a glance

Factor OSCP+ (formerly OSCP) CRTP
Exam fee $1,699 $249
Tier advanced mid
Provider OffSec Altered Security
Questions Practical only Varies
Duration 24h hands-on + 24h report Varies
Renewal Every 3 years Does not expire
Holders Not disclosed Not disclosed
DoD 8140 approved No N/A

What each cert actually signals

OSCP+ (formerly OSCP). OffSec rebranded OSCP to OSCP+ in November 2024. It is still the offensive cert that hiring managers actually respect: a 24-hour proctored practical exam where you must compromise target machines in a live lab environment and write a professional report documenting every step, no multiple-choice questions. But the credential itself changed: OSCP+ carries 3-year active status requiring recertification (via a recert exam, another qualifying OffSec cert, or CPEs), unlike the original OSCP, which was a lifetime credential with no renewal requirement. Anyone who earned OSCP before the rebrand keeps their lifetime status; anyone earning the credential now gets OSCP+ on the 3-year clock. The updated exam also removed bonus points and expanded the Active Directory portion into an 'assumed compromise' scenario starting from a standard domain user account. The prep course (PEN-200) is demanding and the community reputation is hard-earned; many pentesters say it is the single credential that changed their career trajectory.

CRTP. A mid-tier cybersecurity certification issued by Altered Security.

Cost and time investment

OSCP+ (formerly OSCP) runs $1,699 for the exam fee alone. Budget another $200-$800 for study materials and practice exams, and 6-16 weeks of prep time depending on your starting point. CRTP runs $249 with a similar prep-time range. All-in (fee + materials + opportunity cost of study time at a modest $25/hour), expect $4.2K-$6.5K total for OSCP+ (formerly OSCP) and $2.7K-$5.0K for CRTP.

CRTP is the lower-risk first purchase when budget is a factor. That said, picking based on price alone is a trap. The right question is which cert the roles you are targeting list on their job postings, which the exam-format and audience sections below help you answer.

Exam format and difficulty

  • OSCP+ (formerly OSCP): Practical only questions, 24h hands-on + 24h report, passing 60% from 3 standalone machines + 40% from an Active Directory set.
  • CRTP: Varies questions, varies, passing varies.

OSCP+ (formerly OSCP) targets the advanced tier while CRTP targets mid. Attempting an advanced-tier cert before the foundations are solid is a common way to burn money and confidence; match the cert to your current experience level.

Domain coverage

OSCP+ (formerly OSCP) covers: Enumeration and Information Gathering; Active Directory Attacks (assumed-compromise domain scenario); Web Application Exploitation; Privilege Escalation on Linux and Windows; Client-side Attacks; Cloud (AWS) Infrastructure Exploitation; Report Writing.

CRTP objectives are published by Altered Security. Review them against your current skill inventory before committing.

Career impact

OSCP+ (formerly OSCP): OSCP+ is one of the most salary-moving certs in offensive security. Practitioners report $15,000-$30,000 bumps after passing, and senior pentest roles at $130,000-$180,000 frequently list it as required rather than preferred.

OSCP+ (formerly OSCP) shows up most on job postings for: penetration tester.

Pick this one if

OSCP+ (formerly OSCP). Pentesters moving from junior to senior level, offensive security researchers, and anyone whose job requires demonstrated hands-on exploitation skill. Do not attempt without real lab time first.

CRTP. You are advancing to senior roles and want Altered Security validation.

Verdict

For most candidates, the answer is not "which one is better" but "which one does the job posting demand." Pull 5-10 postings for the role you want, tally which cert appears most often, and pick that one first. If both appear roughly equally, pick the lower-cost one and treat the other as a follow-up in year 2-3.

Run both numbers through the Certification ROI Calculator to see the expected payback under your specific salary and cost assumptions. Or take the Career DNA assessment (2 min, free) to get a cert path tailored to your profile.

Still deciding? Let the data decide for you.

Take a free behavioral assessment to discover which path aligns with how you actually think and work.

Last verified: April 2026?Report an inaccuracy

Related Resources

Related Cybersecurity Career Guides

Related Cybersecurity Certifications

Related Cybersecurity Assessments

DecipherU's career insights are drafted with AI assistance from the sources named on the page, under the method set by Julian Calvo, Ed.D. No named person has reviewed this page unless it says so. Career and compensation data come from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, O*NET, and industry compensation databases. Assessment frameworks are grounded in peer-reviewed psychometric research, learning sciences (University of Miami), organizational learning (Barry University), and applied AI (Northeastern University). AI is used as a research and drafting tool; the methodology, framework design, scoring and editorial standards are set by DecipherU.