At a glance
| Factor | OSCP+ (formerly OSCP) | CompTIA PenTest+ |
|---|---|---|
| Exam fee | $1,699 | $439 |
| Tier | advanced | mid |
| Provider | OffSec | CompTIA |
| Questions | Practical only | 90 |
| Duration | 24h hands-on + 24h report | 165 minutes |
| Renewal | Every 3 years | Every 3 years |
| Holders | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| DoD 8140 approved | No | Yes |
What each cert actually signals
OSCP+ (formerly OSCP). OffSec rebranded OSCP to OSCP+ in November 2024. It is still the offensive cert that hiring managers actually respect: a 24-hour proctored practical exam where you must compromise target machines in a live lab environment and write a professional report documenting every step, no multiple-choice questions. But the credential itself changed: OSCP+ carries 3-year active status requiring recertification (via a recert exam, another qualifying OffSec cert, or CPEs), unlike the original OSCP, which was a lifetime credential with no renewal requirement. Anyone who earned OSCP before the rebrand keeps their lifetime status; anyone earning the credential now gets OSCP+ on the 3-year clock. The updated exam also removed bonus points and expanded the Active Directory portion into an 'assumed compromise' scenario starting from a standard domain user account. The prep course (PEN-200) is demanding and the community reputation is hard-earned; many pentesters say it is the single credential that changed their career trajectory.
CompTIA PenTest+. PenTest+ is the offensive counterpart to CySA+. The current version, PT0-003 (V3, launched December 2024), covers the full engagement lifecycle: engagement management, reconnaissance and enumeration, vulnerability discovery and analysis, attacks and exploits, and post-exploitation and lateral movement. Unlike OSCP, which is a 24-hour practical exam, PenTest+ is a mix of multiple choice and performance-based questions, which makes it more accessible as a first offensive cert. DoD 8140 approves it for Vulnerability Assessment Analyst work roles. Hiring managers for junior pentest roles often ask for PenTest+ as a baseline and OSCP as a proof of real exploitation skill; carrying both reads as serious commitment to the craft.
Cost and time investment
OSCP+ (formerly OSCP) runs $1,699 for the exam fee alone. Budget another $200-$800 for study materials and practice exams, and 6-16 weeks of prep time depending on your starting point. CompTIA PenTest+ runs $439 with a similar prep-time range. All-in (fee + materials + opportunity cost of study time at a modest $25/hour), expect $4.2K-$6.5K total for OSCP+ (formerly OSCP) and $2.9K-$5.2K for CompTIA PenTest+.
CompTIA PenTest+ is the lower-risk first purchase when budget is a factor. That said, picking based on price alone is a trap. The right question is which cert the roles you are targeting list on their job postings, which the exam-format and audience sections below help you answer.
Exam format and difficulty
- OSCP+ (formerly OSCP): Practical only questions, 24h hands-on + 24h report, passing 60% from 3 standalone machines + 40% from an Active Directory set.
- CompTIA PenTest+: 90 questions, 165 minutes, passing 750/900.
OSCP+ (formerly OSCP) targets the advanced tier while CompTIA PenTest+ targets mid. Attempting an advanced-tier cert before the foundations are solid is a common way to burn money and confidence; match the cert to your current experience level.
Domain coverage
OSCP+ (formerly OSCP) covers: Enumeration and Information Gathering; Active Directory Attacks (assumed-compromise domain scenario); Web Application Exploitation; Privilege Escalation on Linux and Windows; Client-side Attacks; Cloud (AWS) Infrastructure Exploitation; Report Writing.
CompTIA PenTest+ covers: Engagement Management (13%); Reconnaissance and Enumeration (21%); Vulnerability Discovery and Analysis (17%); Attacks and Exploits (35%); Post-Exploitation and Lateral Movement (14%).
Career impact
OSCP+ (formerly OSCP): OSCP+ is one of the most salary-moving certs in offensive security. Practitioners report $15,000-$30,000 bumps after passing, and senior pentest roles at $130,000-$180,000 frequently list it as required rather than preferred.
CompTIA PenTest+: PenTest+ typically adds $10,000-$20,000 for entry-level offensive roles and is commonly listed for junior pentester postings in the $95,000-$120,000 range. It is considered the credential that makes your resume readable to non-technical recruiters.
OSCP+ (formerly OSCP) shows up most on job postings for: penetration tester.
CompTIA PenTest+ shows up most on job postings for: penetration tester.
Pick this one if
OSCP+ (formerly OSCP). Pentesters moving from junior to senior level, offensive security researchers, and anyone whose job requires demonstrated hands-on exploitation skill. Do not attempt without real lab time first.
CompTIA PenTest+. SOC Analysts pivoting to offensive work, IT practitioners learning ethical hacking, and junior pentesters building up their credential stack toward OSCP.
Verdict
For most candidates, the answer is not "which one is better" but "which one does the job posting demand." Pull 5-10 postings for the role you want, tally which cert appears most often, and pick that one first. If both appear roughly equally, pick the lower-cost one and treat the other as a follow-up in year 2-3.
Run both numbers through the Certification ROI Calculator to see the expected payback under your specific salary and cost assumptions. Or take the Career DNA assessment (2 min, free) to get a cert path tailored to your profile.
Still deciding? Let the data decide for you.
Take a free behavioral assessment to discover which path aligns with how you actually think and work.
Salary data is compiled from public sources including the Bureau of Labor Statistics and industry surveys. Actual compensation varies by location, experience, company, and negotiation. This information is for educational purposes only and does not constitute financial advice.
Certification details are sourced from official certifying body websites. Verify current pricing, exam format, and requirements directly with the certifying organization before making decisions. DecipherU is not affiliated with any certifying body.
Where to go next
Three next steps depending on where you are. The first two are free.
Free · 2 minutes
Start with the AI Risk Score
Two minutes. Tells you how exposed your current role is to AI automation and which defensive moves carry the best return.
Start the AI Risk Score →Paid program · $147-$597
Aligned course: AI Engineering Mastery
Capstone with a published rubric, Ed25519-signed verifiable credential on completion.
View the course →Free account
Save your results and track progress
A free account stores your assessments, recommendations, and an exportable copy of your Career DNA. No card needed.
Create your account →Related Resources
Related Cybersecurity Career Guides
Related Cybersecurity Certifications
Related Cybersecurity Assessments
Related Salary Guides
DecipherU's career insights are drafted with AI assistance from the sources named on the page, under the method set by Julian Calvo, Ed.D. No named person has reviewed this page unless it says so. Career and compensation data come from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, O*NET, and industry compensation databases. Assessment frameworks are grounded in peer-reviewed psychometric research, learning sciences (University of Miami), organizational learning (Barry University), and applied AI (Northeastern University). AI is used as a research and drafting tool; the methodology, framework design, scoring and editorial standards are set by DecipherU.