At a glance
| Factor | GPEN | OSCP+ (formerly OSCP) |
|---|---|---|
| Exam fee | $2,499 | $1,699 |
| Tier | mid | advanced |
| Provider | GIAC | OffSec |
| Questions | Varies | Practical only |
| Duration | Varies | 24h hands-on + 24h report |
| Renewal | Does not expire | Every 3 years |
| Holders | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| DoD 8140 approved | N/A | No |
What each cert actually signals
GPEN. A mid-tier cybersecurity certification issued by GIAC.
OSCP+ (formerly OSCP). OffSec rebranded OSCP to OSCP+ in November 2024. It is still the offensive cert that hiring managers actually respect: a 24-hour proctored practical exam where you must compromise target machines in a live lab environment and write a professional report documenting every step, no multiple-choice questions. But the credential itself changed: OSCP+ carries 3-year active status requiring recertification (via a recert exam, another qualifying OffSec cert, or CPEs), unlike the original OSCP, which was a lifetime credential with no renewal requirement. Anyone who earned OSCP before the rebrand keeps their lifetime status; anyone earning the credential now gets OSCP+ on the 3-year clock. The updated exam also removed bonus points and expanded the Active Directory portion into an 'assumed compromise' scenario starting from a standard domain user account. The prep course (PEN-200) is demanding and the community reputation is hard-earned; many pentesters say it is the single credential that changed their career trajectory.
Cost and time investment
GPEN runs $2,499 for the exam fee alone. Budget another $200-$800 for study materials and practice exams, and 6-16 weeks of prep time depending on your starting point. OSCP+ (formerly OSCP) runs $1,699 with a similar prep-time range. All-in (fee + materials + opportunity cost of study time at a modest $25/hour), expect $5.0K-$7.3K total for GPEN and $4.2K-$6.5K for OSCP+ (formerly OSCP).
OSCP+ (formerly OSCP) is the lower-risk first purchase when budget is a factor. That said, picking based on price alone is a trap. The right question is which cert the roles you are targeting list on their job postings, which the exam-format and audience sections below help you answer.
Exam format and difficulty
- GPEN: Varies questions, varies, passing varies.
- OSCP+ (formerly OSCP): Practical only questions, 24h hands-on + 24h report, passing 60% from 3 standalone machines + 40% from an Active Directory set.
GPEN targets the mid tier while OSCP+ (formerly OSCP) targets advanced. Attempting an advanced-tier cert before the foundations are solid is a common way to burn money and confidence; match the cert to your current experience level.
Domain coverage
GPEN objectives are published by GIAC. Review them against your current skill inventory before committing.
OSCP+ (formerly OSCP) covers: Enumeration and Information Gathering; Active Directory Attacks (assumed-compromise domain scenario); Web Application Exploitation; Privilege Escalation on Linux and Windows; Client-side Attacks; Cloud (AWS) Infrastructure Exploitation; Report Writing.
Career impact
OSCP+ (formerly OSCP): OSCP+ is one of the most salary-moving certs in offensive security. Practitioners report $15,000-$30,000 bumps after passing, and senior pentest roles at $130,000-$180,000 frequently list it as required rather than preferred.
OSCP+ (formerly OSCP) shows up most on job postings for: penetration tester.
Pick this one if
GPEN. You are advancing to senior roles and want GIAC validation.
OSCP+ (formerly OSCP). Pentesters moving from junior to senior level, offensive security researchers, and anyone whose job requires demonstrated hands-on exploitation skill. Do not attempt without real lab time first.
Verdict
For most candidates, the answer is not "which one is better" but "which one does the job posting demand." Pull 5-10 postings for the role you want, tally which cert appears most often, and pick that one first. If both appear roughly equally, pick the lower-cost one and treat the other as a follow-up in year 2-3.
Run both numbers through the Certification ROI Calculator to see the expected payback under your specific salary and cost assumptions. Or take the Career DNA assessment (2 min, free) to get a cert path tailored to your profile.
Still deciding? Let the data decide for you.
Take a free behavioral assessment to discover which path aligns with how you actually think and work.
Salary data is compiled from public sources including the Bureau of Labor Statistics and industry surveys. Actual compensation varies by location, experience, company, and negotiation. This information is for educational purposes only and does not constitute financial advice.
Certification details are sourced from official certifying body websites. Verify current pricing, exam format, and requirements directly with the certifying organization before making decisions. DecipherU is not affiliated with any certifying body.
Where to go next
Three next steps depending on where you are. The first two are free.
Free · 2 minutes
Start with the AI Risk Score
Two minutes. Tells you how exposed your current role is to AI automation and which defensive moves carry the best return.
Start the AI Risk Score →Paid program · $147-$597
Aligned course: AI Engineering Mastery
Capstone with a published rubric, Ed25519-signed verifiable credential on completion.
View the course →Free account
Save your results and track progress
A free account stores your assessments, recommendations, and an exportable copy of your Career DNA. No card needed.
Create your account →Related Resources
Related Cybersecurity Career Guides
Related Cybersecurity Certifications
Related Cybersecurity Assessments
Related Salary Guides
DecipherU's career insights are drafted with AI assistance from the sources named on the page, under the method set by Julian Calvo, Ed.D. No named person has reviewed this page unless it says so. Career and compensation data come from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, O*NET, and industry compensation databases. Assessment frameworks are grounded in peer-reviewed psychometric research, learning sciences (University of Miami), organizational learning (Barry University), and applied AI (Northeastern University). AI is used as a research and drafting tool; the methodology, framework design, scoring and editorial standards are set by DecipherU.