Comptia Pentest Plus vs Ejpt

Each comparison ends with a verdict, decided on outcome, accessibility, and total cost (time, dollars, opportunity), using BLS, ISC2, CompTIA, and certifying-body sources cited inline.

ByDecipherU Editorial

At a glance

Factor CompTIA PenTest+ eJPT
Exam fee $439 $249
Tier mid entry
Provider CompTIA INE Security
Questions 90 Varies
Duration 165 minutes Varies
Renewal Every 3 years Does not expire
Holders Not disclosed Not disclosed
DoD 8140 approved Yes N/A

What each cert actually signals

CompTIA PenTest+. PenTest+ is the offensive counterpart to CySA+. The current version, PT0-003 (V3, launched December 2024), covers the full engagement lifecycle: engagement management, reconnaissance and enumeration, vulnerability discovery and analysis, attacks and exploits, and post-exploitation and lateral movement. Unlike OSCP, which is a 24-hour practical exam, PenTest+ is a mix of multiple choice and performance-based questions, which makes it more accessible as a first offensive cert. DoD 8140 approves it for Vulnerability Assessment Analyst work roles. Hiring managers for junior pentest roles often ask for PenTest+ as a baseline and OSCP as a proof of real exploitation skill; carrying both reads as serious commitment to the craft.

eJPT. A entry-tier cybersecurity certification issued by INE Security.

Cost and time investment

CompTIA PenTest+ runs $439 for the exam fee alone. Budget another $200-$800 for study materials and practice exams, and 6-16 weeks of prep time depending on your starting point. eJPT runs $249 with a similar prep-time range. All-in (fee + materials + opportunity cost of study time at a modest $25/hour), expect $2.9K-$5.2K total for CompTIA PenTest+ and $2.7K-$5.0K for eJPT.

eJPT is the lower-risk first purchase when budget is a factor. That said, picking based on price alone is a trap. The right question is which cert the roles you are targeting list on their job postings, which the exam-format and audience sections below help you answer.

Exam format and difficulty

  • CompTIA PenTest+: 90 questions, 165 minutes, passing 750/900.
  • eJPT: Varies questions, varies, passing varies.

CompTIA PenTest+ targets the mid tier while eJPT targets entry. Attempting an advanced-tier cert before the foundations are solid is a common way to burn money and confidence; match the cert to your current experience level.

Domain coverage

CompTIA PenTest+ covers: Engagement Management (13%); Reconnaissance and Enumeration (21%); Vulnerability Discovery and Analysis (17%); Attacks and Exploits (35%); Post-Exploitation and Lateral Movement (14%).

eJPT objectives are published by INE Security. Review them against your current skill inventory before committing.

Career impact

CompTIA PenTest+: PenTest+ typically adds $10,000-$20,000 for entry-level offensive roles and is commonly listed for junior pentester postings in the $95,000-$120,000 range. It is considered the credential that makes your resume readable to non-technical recruiters.

CompTIA PenTest+ shows up most on job postings for: penetration tester.

Pick this one if

CompTIA PenTest+. SOC Analysts pivoting to offensive work, IT practitioners learning ethical hacking, and junior pentesters building up their credential stack toward OSCP.

eJPT. You are early in your cybersecurity career and want INE Security validation.

Verdict

For most candidates, the answer is not "which one is better" but "which one does the job posting demand." Pull 5-10 postings for the role you want, tally which cert appears most often, and pick that one first. If both appear roughly equally, pick the lower-cost one and treat the other as a follow-up in year 2-3.

Run both numbers through the Certification ROI Calculator to see the expected payback under your specific salary and cost assumptions. Or take the Career DNA assessment (2 min, free) to get a cert path tailored to your profile.

Still deciding? Let the data decide for you.

Take a free behavioral assessment to discover which path aligns with how you actually think and work.

Last verified: April 2026?Report an inaccuracy

Related Resources

Related Cybersecurity Career Guides

Related Cybersecurity Certifications

Related Cybersecurity Assessments

DecipherU's career insights are drafted with AI assistance from the sources named on the page, under the method set by Julian Calvo, Ed.D. No named person has reviewed this page unless it says so. Career and compensation data come from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, O*NET, and industry compensation databases. Assessment frameworks are grounded in peer-reviewed psychometric research, learning sciences (University of Miami), organizational learning (Barry University), and applied AI (Northeastern University). AI is used as a research and drafting tool; the methodology, framework design, scoring and editorial standards are set by DecipherU.