At a glance
| Factor | CompTIA CySA+ | GCTI (GIAC Cyber Threat Intelligence) |
|---|---|---|
| Exam fee | $404 | $999 |
| Tier | mid | advanced |
| Provider | CompTIA | GIAC |
| Questions | 85 | 82 |
| Duration | 165 minutes | 3 hours |
| Renewal | Every 3 years | Every 4 years |
| Holders | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| DoD 8140 approved | Yes | Yes |
What each cert actually signals
CompTIA CySA+. CySA+ is the detection-and-response cert. It sits between Security+ and SecurityX and targets the Tier 2 SOC analyst, threat hunter, and incident response practitioner. CompTIA launched CS0-004 (V4) on June 23, 2026; the current CS0-003 (V3) remains valid and testable until it retires on December 22, 2026, after which CS0-004 becomes the only version. V4 rebalances domain weights (Incident Response grew from a fifth to nearly a quarter of the exam) and adds AI, cloud-native/hybrid, automation/SOAR, and zero trust content. The exam leans hands-on with performance-based questions that ask you to read log entries, prioritize vulnerabilities, and write detection logic. It carries DoD 8140 approval for Cyber Defense Analyst and Cyber Defense Incident Responder work roles, which matters if federal contracts are in your future. I recommend it to SOC Analysts who have been in seat 12-24 months and want a signal that matches their growing skill.
GCTI (GIAC Cyber Threat Intelligence). GCTI is the GIAC Cyber Threat Intelligence certification, paired most often with SANS FOR578: Cyber Threat Intelligence training. The exam tests strategic, operational, and tactical intelligence work: collection management framework design, structured analytic techniques (ACH, key assumptions check), MITRE ATT&CK mapping, intrusion analysis using the Diamond Model and Kill Chain, threat actor attribution methodology, and intelligence reporting for executive consumers. It is one of two GIAC certs in the CTI lane (GCTI and GREM for malware-side work) and is the credential most commonly listed on senior CTI analyst job descriptions at Mandiant, CrowdStrike, Recorded Future, and federal contractors. DoD 8140 maps GCTI to All-Source Analyst and Cyber Intel Planner work roles.
Cost and time investment
CompTIA CySA+ runs $404 for the exam fee alone. Budget another $200-$800 for study materials and practice exams, and 6-16 weeks of prep time depending on your starting point. GCTI (GIAC Cyber Threat Intelligence) runs $999 with a similar prep-time range. All-in (fee + materials + opportunity cost of study time at a modest $25/hour), expect $2.9K-$5.2K total for CompTIA CySA+ and $3.5K-$5.8K for GCTI (GIAC Cyber Threat Intelligence).
CompTIA CySA+ is the lower-risk first purchase when budget is a factor. That said, picking based on price alone is a trap. The right question is which cert the roles you are targeting list on their job postings, which the exam-format and audience sections below help you answer.
Exam format and difficulty
- CompTIA CySA+: 85 questions, 165 minutes, passing 750/900.
- GCTI (GIAC Cyber Threat Intelligence): 82 questions, 3 hours, passing 71%.
CompTIA CySA+ targets the mid tier while GCTI (GIAC Cyber Threat Intelligence) targets advanced. Attempting an advanced-tier cert before the foundations are solid is a common way to burn money and confidence; match the cert to your current experience level.
Domain coverage
CompTIA CySA+ covers: Security Operations; Vulnerability Management; Incident Response and Management; Reporting and Communication.
GCTI (GIAC Cyber Threat Intelligence) covers: Intelligence cycle and collection management framework; Structured analytic techniques (ACH, key assumptions, red team analysis); MITRE ATT&CK and Diamond Model intrusion analysis; Threat actor attribution and tracking; Indicators of compromise and IOC management; Strategic, operational, and tactical intelligence reporting; OSINT collection and source evaluation.
Career impact
CompTIA CySA+: CySA+ typically adds $8,000-$15,000 to a SOC Analyst's compensation and is the cert most commonly requested for Tier 2 roles at $95,000-$125,000. CompTIA 2024 data shows a 12% average salary lift over Security+ alone.
GCTI (GIAC Cyber Threat Intelligence): GCTI is the most-requested CTI-specific cert on senior analyst postings in the $130,000 to $180,000 range. ISC2 2024 Workforce Study reports a measurable compensation premium for practitioners with named CTI credentials versus general SOC certs at comparable experience. GCTI holders working at threat-intel vendors (Mandiant, Recorded Future, Flashpoint) and federal contractors cluster at the higher end of the range due to clearance and vendor specialization.
CompTIA CySA+ shows up most on job postings for: soc analyst, incident responder, threat intelligence analyst.
GCTI (GIAC Cyber Threat Intelligence) shows up most on job postings for: threat intelligence analyst, incident responder, threat hunter, soc analyst.
Pick this one if
CompTIA CySA+. SOC Analysts moving from Tier 1 to Tier 2, vulnerability management specialists, and early-career threat hunters. A practical next step after Security+ for anyone staying on the detection side of security.
GCTI (GIAC Cyber Threat Intelligence). SOC Tier 2 and Tier 3 analysts moving into a dedicated CTI seat, incident responders adding strategic intelligence to their tactical IR work, and federal contractor analysts who need the DoD 8140 mapping. The right cert when the role requires producing finished intelligence (FINTEL) for executives, not just IOC feeds.
Verdict
For most candidates, the answer is not "which one is better" but "which one does the job posting demand." Pull 5-10 postings for the role you want, tally which cert appears most often, and pick that one first. If both appear roughly equally, pick the lower-cost one and treat the other as a follow-up in year 2-3.
Run both numbers through the Certification ROI Calculator to see the expected payback under your specific salary and cost assumptions. Or take the Career DNA assessment (2 min, free) to get a cert path tailored to your profile.
Still deciding? Let the data decide for you.
Take a free behavioral assessment to discover which path aligns with how you actually think and work.
Salary data is compiled from public sources including the Bureau of Labor Statistics and industry surveys. Actual compensation varies by location, experience, company, and negotiation. This information is for educational purposes only and does not constitute financial advice.
Certification details are sourced from official certifying body websites. Verify current pricing, exam format, and requirements directly with the certifying organization before making decisions. DecipherU is not affiliated with any certifying body.
Where to go next
Three next steps depending on where you are. The first two are free.
Free · 2 minutes
Start with the AI Risk Score
Two minutes. Tells you how exposed your current role is to AI automation and which defensive moves carry the best return.
Start the AI Risk Score →Paid program · $147-$597
Aligned course: AI Engineering Mastery
Capstone with a published rubric, Ed25519-signed verifiable credential on completion.
View the course →Free account
Save your results and track progress
A free account stores your assessments, recommendations, and an exportable copy of your Career DNA. No card needed.
Create your account →Related Resources
Related Cybersecurity Career Guides
Related Cybersecurity Certifications
Related Cybersecurity Assessments
Related Salary Guides
DecipherU's career insights are drafted with AI assistance from the sources named on the page, under the method set by Julian Calvo, Ed.D. No named person has reviewed this page unless it says so. Career and compensation data come from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, O*NET, and industry compensation databases. Assessment frameworks are grounded in peer-reviewed psychometric research, learning sciences (University of Miami), organizational learning (Barry University), and applied AI (Northeastern University). AI is used as a research and drafting tool; the methodology, framework design, scoring and editorial standards are set by DecipherU.