At a glance
| Factor | CISSP | CISA |
|---|---|---|
| Exam fee | $749 | $575 |
| Tier | advanced | advanced |
| Provider | ISC2 | ISACA |
| Questions | 100-150 (adaptive) | Varies |
| Duration | 3 hours | Varies |
| Renewal | Every 3 years | Does not expire |
| Holders | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| DoD 8140 approved | Yes | N/A |
What each cert actually signals
CISSP. CISSP is the cybersecurity industry's gold standard for senior practitioners. It tests breadth across eight domains rather than depth in any single one, which makes it a management-track cert rather than a technical-track one. ISC2 requires five years of paid cumulative experience in two or more of the eight domains before you can earn the full CISSP designation; pass the exam without the experience and you become an Associate of ISC2 until you log the time. The exam itself uses computerized adaptive testing, which means the difficulty adjusts to your performance and the length varies from 100 to 150 questions.
CISA. A advanced-tier cybersecurity certification issued by ISACA.
Cost and time investment
CISSP runs $749 for the exam fee alone. Budget another $200-$800 for study materials and practice exams, and 6-16 weeks of prep time depending on your starting point. CISA runs $575 with a similar prep-time range. All-in (fee + materials + opportunity cost of study time at a modest $25/hour), expect $3.2K-$5.5K total for CISSP and $3.1K-$5.4K for CISA.
CISA is the lower-risk first purchase when budget is a factor. That said, picking based on price alone is a trap. The right question is which cert the roles you are targeting list on their job postings, which the exam-format and audience sections below help you answer.
Exam format and difficulty
- CISSP: 100-150 (adaptive) questions, 3 hours, passing 700/1000.
- CISA: Varies questions, varies, passing varies.
Both certifications sit in the advanced tier. Difficulty is roughly comparable, though domain coverage and exam style differ (see next section).
Domain coverage
CISSP covers: Security and Risk Management; Asset Security; Security Architecture and Engineering; Communication and Network Security; Identity and Access Management; Security Assessment and Testing; Security Operations; Software Development Security.
CISA objectives are published by ISACA. Review them against your current skill inventory before committing.
Career impact
CISSP: CISSP carries one of the largest documented salary premiums in cybersecurity. ISC2 2024 workforce data shows CISSP holders earning $25,000-$45,000 more than non-holders at the same experience level. Architect, CISO, and lead engineer roles in the $140,000-$250,000 range frequently require it as a hard filter.
CISSP shows up most on job postings for: security architect, ciso, security engineer.
Pick this one if
CISSP. Senior security practitioners targeting architect, lead engineer, or CISO tracks. The right cert for professionals with five plus years of experience who want the broadest senior-level recognition.
CISA. You are advancing to senior roles and want ISACA validation.
Verdict
For most candidates, the answer is not "which one is better" but "which one does the job posting demand." Pull 5-10 postings for the role you want, tally which cert appears most often, and pick that one first. If both appear roughly equally, pick the lower-cost one and treat the other as a follow-up in year 2-3.
Run both numbers through the Certification ROI Calculator to see the expected payback under your specific salary and cost assumptions. Or take the Career DNA assessment (2 min, free) to get a cert path tailored to your profile.
Still deciding? Let the data decide for you.
Take a free behavioral assessment to discover which path aligns with how you actually think and work.
Salary data is compiled from public sources including the Bureau of Labor Statistics and industry surveys. Actual compensation varies by location, experience, company, and negotiation. This information is for educational purposes only and does not constitute financial advice.
Certification details are sourced from official certifying body websites. Verify current pricing, exam format, and requirements directly with the certifying organization before making decisions. DecipherU is not affiliated with any certifying body.
Where to go next
Three next steps depending on where you are. The first two are free.
Free · 2 minutes
Start with the AI Risk Score
Two minutes. Tells you how exposed your current role is to AI automation and which defensive moves carry the best return.
Start the AI Risk Score →Paid program · $147-$597
Aligned course: AI Engineering Mastery
Capstone with a published rubric, Ed25519-signed verifiable credential on completion.
View the course →Free account
Save your results and track progress
A free account stores your assessments, recommendations, and an exportable copy of your Career DNA. No card needed.
Create your account →Related Resources
Related Cybersecurity Career Guides
Related Cybersecurity Certifications
Related Cybersecurity Assessments
Related Salary Guides
DecipherU's career insights are drafted with AI assistance from the sources named on the page, under the method set by Julian Calvo, Ed.D. No named person has reviewed this page unless it says so. Career and compensation data come from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, O*NET, and industry compensation databases. Assessment frameworks are grounded in peer-reviewed psychometric research, learning sciences (University of Miami), organizational learning (Barry University), and applied AI (Northeastern University). AI is used as a research and drafting tool; the methodology, framework design, scoring and editorial standards are set by DecipherU.