Casp Plus vs CISSP

Each comparison ends with a verdict, decided on outcome, accessibility, and total cost (time, dollars, opportunity), using BLS, ISC2, CompTIA, and certifying-body sources cited inline.

ByDecipherU Editorial

At a glance

Factor CompTIA SecurityX (CASP+) CISSP
Exam fee $529 $749
Tier advanced advanced
Provider CompTIA ISC2
Questions 90 100-150 (adaptive)
Duration 165 minutes 3 hours
Renewal Every 3 years Every 3 years
Holders Not disclosed Not disclosed
DoD 8140 approved Yes Yes

What each cert actually signals

CompTIA SecurityX (CASP+). SecurityX is CompTIA's advanced technical cert for senior practitioners who want a practitioner-focused alternative to the management-focused CISSP. CompTIA rebranded CASP+ as SecurityX in December 2024 as part of its Xpert Series and retired the old CAS-004 exam on June 17, 2025 in favor of CAS-005, which adds AI threat modeling and post-quantum cryptography to the syllabus. It covers enterprise security architecture, applied cryptography, governance and risk, and security operations, and is heavy on performance-based scenarios, which makes it feel closer to CySA+ than to CISSP. DoD 8570/8140 approved for IAT Level III and IASAE Level II work roles. Useful for engineers who want the senior credential but want to stay hands-on rather than pivot to management.

CISSP. CISSP is the cybersecurity industry's gold standard for senior practitioners. It tests breadth across eight domains rather than depth in any single one, which makes it a management-track cert rather than a technical-track one. ISC2 requires five years of paid cumulative experience in two or more of the eight domains before you can earn the full CISSP designation; pass the exam without the experience and you become an Associate of ISC2 until you log the time. The exam itself uses computerized adaptive testing, which means the difficulty adjusts to your performance and the length varies from 100 to 150 questions.

Cost and time investment

CompTIA SecurityX (CASP+) runs $529 for the exam fee alone. Budget another $200-$800 for study materials and practice exams, and 6-16 weeks of prep time depending on your starting point. CISSP runs $749 with a similar prep-time range. All-in (fee + materials + opportunity cost of study time at a modest $25/hour), expect $3.0K-$5.3K total for CompTIA SecurityX (CASP+) and $3.2K-$5.5K for CISSP.

CompTIA SecurityX (CASP+) is the lower-risk first purchase when budget is a factor. That said, picking based on price alone is a trap. The right question is which cert the roles you are targeting list on their job postings, which the exam-format and audience sections below help you answer.

Exam format and difficulty

  • CompTIA SecurityX (CASP+): 90 questions, 165 minutes, passing Pass/Fail (scaled).
  • CISSP: 100-150 (adaptive) questions, 3 hours, passing 700/1000.

Both certifications sit in the advanced tier. Difficulty is roughly comparable, though domain coverage and exam style differ (see next section).

Domain coverage

CompTIA SecurityX (CASP+) covers: Governance, Risk, and Compliance (20%); Security Architecture (27%); Security Engineering (31%); Security Operations (22%).

CISSP covers: Security and Risk Management; Asset Security; Security Architecture and Engineering; Communication and Network Security; Identity and Access Management; Security Assessment and Testing; Security Operations; Software Development Security.

Career impact

CompTIA SecurityX (CASP+): SecurityX is required by a subset of federal contract positions that mandate IASAE Level II; check current postings for the pay that comes with it.

CISSP: CISSP carries one of the largest documented salary premiums in cybersecurity. ISC2 2024 workforce data shows CISSP holders earning $25,000-$45,000 more than non-holders at the same experience level. Architect, CISO, and lead engineer roles in the $140,000-$250,000 range frequently require it as a hard filter.

CompTIA SecurityX (CASP+) shows up most on job postings for: security architect, security engineer.

CISSP shows up most on job postings for: security architect, ciso, security engineer.

Pick this one if

CompTIA SecurityX (CASP+). Senior security engineers who want an advanced cert without the CISSP management pivot, federal contractors needing IASAE Level II, and architects in non-CISSP environments.

CISSP. Senior security practitioners targeting architect, lead engineer, or CISO tracks. The right cert for professionals with five plus years of experience who want the broadest senior-level recognition.

Verdict

For most candidates, the answer is not "which one is better" but "which one does the job posting demand." Pull 5-10 postings for the role you want, tally which cert appears most often, and pick that one first. If both appear roughly equally, pick the lower-cost one and treat the other as a follow-up in year 2-3.

Run both numbers through the Certification ROI Calculator to see the expected payback under your specific salary and cost assumptions. Or take the Career DNA assessment (2 min, free) to get a cert path tailored to your profile.

Still deciding? Let the data decide for you.

Take a free behavioral assessment to discover which path aligns with how you actually think and work.

Last verified: April 2026?Report an inaccuracy

Related Resources

Related Cybersecurity Career Guides

Related Cybersecurity Certifications

Related Cybersecurity Assessments

DecipherU's career insights are drafted with AI assistance from the sources named on the page, under the method set by Julian Calvo, Ed.D. No named person has reviewed this page unless it says so. Career and compensation data come from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, O*NET, and industry compensation databases. Assessment frameworks are grounded in peer-reviewed psychometric research, learning sciences (University of Miami), organizational learning (Barry University), and applied AI (Northeastern University). AI is used as a research and drafting tool; the methodology, framework design, scoring and editorial standards are set by DecipherU.