At a glance
| Factor | AWS Security Specialty | Azure Security Engineer (retired) |
|---|---|---|
| Exam fee | $300 | $165 |
| Tier | specialized | specialized |
| Provider | Amazon | Microsoft |
| Questions | 65 | 40-60 |
| Duration | 170 minutes | 120 minutes |
| Renewal | Every 3 years | Every 1 years |
| Holders | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| DoD 8140 approved | No | No |
What each cert actually signals
AWS Security Specialty. AWS Security Specialty is the cloud security cert you earn when AWS is your operating environment. AWS retired the SCS-C02 version and replaced it with the current SCS-C03. It tests deep knowledge of AWS-native controls: IAM, KMS, CloudTrail, GuardDuty, Security Hub, Macie, Inspector, WAF, Shield, and the shared responsibility model in practice. Unlike CCSP's vendor-neutral governance focus, SCS-C03 is hands-on AWS. Expect scenarios that make you pick the right bucket policy, the right KMS key policy, and the right VPC endpoint configuration for a given requirement. Employers running AWS-first security programs often list this cert above CISSP for cloud security engineering roles.
Azure Security Engineer (retired). AZ-500 and the Azure Security Engineer Associate certification retired on August 31, 2026. Microsoft's suggested replacement is SC-500 (Cloud and AI Security Engineer Associate), a different exam and credential with no conversion path from AZ-500. Anyone who earned AZ-500 before retirement keeps the credential on their transcript, but it can no longer be earned or renewed. See the sc-500 entry for the current, active cert covering this scope.
Cost and time investment
AWS Security Specialty runs $300 for the exam fee alone. Budget another $200-$800 for study materials and practice exams, and 6-16 weeks of prep time depending on your starting point. Azure Security Engineer (retired) runs $165 with a similar prep-time range. All-in (fee + materials + opportunity cost of study time at a modest $25/hour), expect $2.8K-$5.1K total for AWS Security Specialty and $2.7K-$5.0K for Azure Security Engineer (retired).
Azure Security Engineer (retired) is the lower-risk first purchase when budget is a factor. That said, picking based on price alone is a trap. The right question is which cert the roles you are targeting list on their job postings, which the exam-format and audience sections below help you answer.
Exam format and difficulty
- AWS Security Specialty: 65 questions, 170 minutes, passing 750/1000.
- Azure Security Engineer (retired): 40-60 questions, 120 minutes, passing 700/1000.
Both certifications sit in the specialized tier. Difficulty is roughly comparable, though domain coverage and exam style differ (see next section).
Domain coverage
AWS Security Specialty covers: Threat Detection and Incident Response; Security Logging and Monitoring; Infrastructure Security; Identity and Access Management; Data Protection; Management and Security Governance.
Azure Security Engineer (retired) covers: Manage Identity and Access; Secure Networking; Secure Compute, Storage, and Databases; Manage Security Operations.
Career impact
AWS Security Specialty: Typical salary lift is $15,000-$30,000 for cloud security engineers in AWS-heavy shops. Roles in the $140,000-$200,000 range list it as required or strongly preferred.
Azure Security Engineer (retired): Retired. See sc-500 for current salary-impact data on this role scope.
AWS Security Specialty shows up most on job postings for: security engineer, security architect.
Azure Security Engineer (retired) shows up most on job postings for: security engineer, security architect.
Pick this one if
AWS Security Specialty. Security engineers and architects building on AWS, DevSecOps practitioners running AWS-native security pipelines, and consultants working with AWS-first customers.
Azure Security Engineer (retired). No longer earnable. Candidates should pursue sc-500 instead.
Verdict
For most candidates, the answer is not "which one is better" but "which one does the job posting demand." Pull 5-10 postings for the role you want, tally which cert appears most often, and pick that one first. If both appear roughly equally, pick the lower-cost one and treat the other as a follow-up in year 2-3.
Run both numbers through the Certification ROI Calculator to see the expected payback under your specific salary and cost assumptions. Or take the Career DNA assessment (2 min, free) to get a cert path tailored to your profile.
Still deciding? Let the data decide for you.
Take a free behavioral assessment to discover which path aligns with how you actually think and work.
Salary data is compiled from public sources including the Bureau of Labor Statistics and industry surveys. Actual compensation varies by location, experience, company, and negotiation. This information is for educational purposes only and does not constitute financial advice.
Certification details are sourced from official certifying body websites. Verify current pricing, exam format, and requirements directly with the certifying organization before making decisions. DecipherU is not affiliated with any certifying body.
Where to go next
Three next steps depending on where you are. The first two are free.
Free · 2 minutes
Start with the AI Risk Score
Two minutes. Tells you how exposed your current role is to AI automation and which defensive moves carry the best return.
Start the AI Risk Score →Paid program · $147-$597
Aligned course: AI Engineering Mastery
Capstone with a published rubric, Ed25519-signed verifiable credential on completion.
View the course →Free account
Save your results and track progress
A free account stores your assessments, recommendations, and an exportable copy of your Career DNA. No card needed.
Create your account →Related Resources
Related Cybersecurity Career Guides
Related Cybersecurity Certifications
Related Cybersecurity Assessments
Related Salary Guides
DecipherU's career insights are drafted with AI assistance from the sources named on the page, under the method set by Julian Calvo, Ed.D. No named person has reviewed this page unless it says so. Career and compensation data come from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, O*NET, and industry compensation databases. Assessment frameworks are grounded in peer-reviewed psychometric research, learning sciences (University of Miami), organizational learning (Barry University), and applied AI (Northeastern University). AI is used as a research and drafting tool; the methodology, framework design, scoring and editorial standards are set by DecipherU.